Connecting Communities

Niriqatiginnga is a grassroots, community-driven non-profit organization growing from the ground up after more than a decade of arts-based and participatory research. 

As a community program, nurturing the skills, knowledge, and networks of our future leaders, this unique, pilot program contributes beyond the success of its participants. Niriqatiginnga also lays the foundation for sustainable and impactful business and entrepreneurship programming across the Kivalliq Region and Northern Manitoba.

View our Certificate of Registration
Business Number: 799806427MC0001
View our Working By-Laws

Headingley: 19 Prairie Lane
Headingley, MB R4H 1A2
576 Union Ave E
Winnipeg, MB R2L 1A4

Meet our Communities, Steering Committee, Board and Leadership

As a locally and regionally-focused community economic development project in 2023, this pilot program works to support and increase the participation of northern Indigenous communities and businesses in Manitoba and northern food sector opportunities. 

Participating Communities 

The program has participants from Nunavut and Northern Manitoba. It is coordinated from Winnipeg, Manitoba, with participation from Headingley, Manitoba; Borups Corners, Northwestern Ontario; Duluth and Minneapolis, Minnesota.

2024-2025 Collective Members

Anyone can be part of this exciting program, with the only requirement being to support the goal to strengthening northern food security through arts, cultural and food sector entrepreneurship. Our steering committee, volunteers, staff and board is driven by Inuit, Metis and First Nations Elders, youth and members of the Manitoba and local Winnipeg businesses.

  • Lucy Eetak; Arviat, Nunavut
  • Shelley Grahame, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Paul Eetak, Arviat, Nunavut
  • Jamie Bell, Melgund, Northwestern Ontario
  • Tony Eetak, Melgund, Northwestern Ontario
  • Clifford Caners; Stonewall, Manitoba
  • Constance Menzies, MNRM; Chocolatier Constance Popp
  • Dr. Olaf Kuhlke, PhD; Minneapolis College of Art and Design
  • Kami Norland, MA, ATR; Minneapolis College of Art and Design
  • Dr. Wenqing Zhang, PhD; Labovitz School of Business and Economics; University of Minnesota Duluth
  • Tara Tootoo Fotheringham; Headingley, Manitoba
  • KJ Crystoval, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Atuat Tootoo; Rankin Inlet, Nunavut
  • Belinda Vandenbroeck; Headingley, Manitoba
  • Ellis Anderson, ; Minneapolis College of Art and Design
  • Anastasia Broman; Minneapolis College of Art and Design
  • Connor Johnson; Minneapolis College of Art and Design